Professional Links

R.D. Smith; updated spring 2020

Professional Organizations & Resources: Public Relations

Canadian Public Relations Society cprs.ca

International Association of Business Communicators iabc.com

International Association of Online Communicators onlinecommunicators.org

International Public Relations Institute ipra.org

Institute for Public Relations instituteforpr.com

National Association of Government Communicators nagc.com

National Council for Marketing & Public Relations ncmpr.org

National Investor Relations Institute www.niri.org

National School Public Relations Association nspra.org

Public Relations Society of America prsa.org

Religion Communicators Council religioncommunicators.org

Professional Organizations & Resources: Advertising

American Advertising Federation aaf.org

American Association of Advertising Agencies aaaa.org

American Marketing Association ama.org

Professional Organizations & Resources: Communication

American Communication Association americancomm.org

Association for Business Communication businesscommunication.org

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication aejmc.org

Canadian Communication Association https://acc-cca.ca

Center for the Study of Communication and Culture cscc.scu.edu

International Association for Media and Communication Research iamcr.org

International Communication Association icahdq.org

Journalism Education Association jea.org

National Communication Association natcom.org

World Communication Association wcaweb.org

 

Professional Organizations & Resources: Journalism

ACES Society of Editors copydesk.org

American Medial Writers Association amwa.org

American Society of Magazine Editors asme/media

Associated Collegiate Press studentpress.org/acp

Associated Press Sports Editors apsportseditors.org/

Association of Alternative News Media aan.org

Association of Food Journalists afjonline.com

Association of Health Care Journalists healthjournalism.org

Association for Women in Sports Media awsmonline.org

Canadian Association of Journalists caj.ca

Criminal Justice Journalists thecrimereport.org

Education Writers Association ewa.org

International Federation of Agricultural Journalists ifaj.org

International Federation of Journalists ifj.org

International Food, Wine and Travel Writers Association ifwtwa.org

Investigative Reports and Editors ire.org

Military Reporters and Writers Association militaryreporters.org

National Association of Science Writers nasw.org

National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting nicar.org

National Education Writers Association ewa.org

National Press Photographers Association nppa.org

National Association of Science Writers nasw.org

News Leaders Association (formerly American Society of Newspaper Editors) newsleaders.org

Online News Association journalists.org

Pew Research Center for the People and the Press people-press.org

Poynter Institute www.poynter.org

Radio Television Digital News News Association rtdnaorg

Religion Newswriters Association rna.org

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press rcfp.org

Society for Features Journalism featuresjournalism.org

Society of American Business Editors and Writers sabew.org

Society of Environmental Journalists sej.org

Society of News Design snd.org

Society of Professional Journalists spj.org

 

Professional Organizations & Resources: Broadcasting

Academy of Television emmys.org

American Sportscasters Association americansportscastersonline.com

Broadcast Education Association beaweb.org

Corporation for Public Broadcasting cpb.org

Federal Communications Commission fcc.gov

Independent Media Center indymedia.org

Internet and Television Association ncta.com

National Association of Broadcasters nab.org

National Association of Television Program Executives natpe.org

National Federation of Community Broadcasters nfcb.org

National Writers Union nwu.org

Native American Public Telecommunications airos.org

Native Networks Radio nativenetworks.si.edu

Public Radio International pri.org

 

Professional Organizations & Resources: Communication Diversity

Arab and Middle Eastern Journalists Association ameja.org

American Women in Radio and Television awrt.org

Asian American Journalists Association aaja.org

Association of LGBTQ Journalists nlgja.org

Association for Women in Communication womcom.org

Association for Women in Sports Media awsmonline.org

Hispanic Public Relations Association hpra-usa.org

National Association of Black Journalists nabj.org

National Association of Hispanic Journalists nahj.org

National Association for Multi-Ethnicity in Communication namic.com

National Black Public Relations Society nbprs.org

Native American Journalists Association naja.com

South Asian Journalists Association saja.org

Women in Cable Telecommunications wict.org

 

Media Publications & Professional Resources

Advertising Age adage.com

All About Public Relations aboutpublicrelations.net/mlibrary.htm

American Journalism Review ajr.org

Behind the News newsresearch.blogspot.com

Columbia Journalism Review cjr.org

Editor & Publisher editorandpublisher.com

First Amendment News firstamendmentcenter.org

Journal of Mass Media Ethics tandfonline.com

Journal of Marketing Communications tandfoline.com/loi/rjmc20

Journal of Integrated Marketing Communication jimc.medill.northwestern.edu/archives

Journal of Public Relations Research tandfonline.com/lai/hprr20

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press rcfp.org

Public Relations Journal prsa.org/prjournal (search archives)

Online Journalism Review ojr.org 

Diversity Resources

American Civil Liberties Union www.aclu.org

Diversity Inc (online magazine) www.diversityinc.com

Forum on Media Diversity (online academic forum) www.masscommunicating.lsu.edu

Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation www.glaad.org

Freedom Forum (info on diversity) www.freedomforum.org

Media Diversity Institute (international scope) www.media-diversity.org

National Center for Disability and Journalism (multiple links)www.ncdj.org/index.php

Poynter Online (ethics and diversity) www.poynter.org

Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education (focus on diversity) mije.org

Society of Professional Journalists (Diversity section) www.spj.org/diversity.asp

U.S. Census Bureau www.census.gov

 

Ethics Resources: Journalism

American Society of Newspaper Editors (Statement of Principles) http://asne.org/content.asp?contentid=171

Associated Press Management Editors (Ethics Code) www.apme.com/?page=EthicsStatement

Digital Media Ethics https://ethics.journalism.wisc.edu/resources/digital-media-ethics/

Journalism Net (international links to press codes)www.journalismnet.com/media/ethics.htm

National Conference of Editorial Writers (Statement of Principles) http://www.columbia.edu/itc/journalism/j6075/edit/ethiccodes/NCEW.html

National Public Radio (News Code of Ethics & Practices) www.npr.org/about/aboutnpr/ethics/ethics_code.html

New York Times (Journalism Ethics Policy) www.nytco.com/press/ethics.html

Scripps Newspapers (Statement of Policy on Ethics & Professional Conduct) asne.org/article_view/articleid/270/e-w-scripps-co-statement-of-policy-on-ethics-and-professional-conduct.aspx

Society for News Design (Code of Ethical Standards) www.snd.org/about/code-of-ethics/

Society of Professional Journalists (Code of Ethics) www.spj.org/ethicscode.asp

 

Ethics Resources: Public Relations

Public Relations Society of America (Code of Ethics) https://www.prsa.org/ethics/code-of-ethics/

Canadian Public Relations Society (Code of Professional Standards) www.cprs.ca/aboutus/code_ethic.aspx

National School Public Relations Association (Code of Ethics) nspra.org/code-ethics

Association for Educational Communication & Technology (Code of Ethics)

www.aect.org/About/Ethics.asp

Religion Communicators Council (Ethical Guidelines) www.religioncommunicators.org/mc/page.do?sitePageId=70782

International Association of Business Communicators (Code of Ethics) www.iabc.com/about/code.htm

 

Ethics Resources: Advertising

American Advertising Federation (Advertising Ethics & Principles) www.aaf.org

Canadian Code of Advertising Standards www.adstandards.com/en/standards/thecode.aspx

Vatican: Pontifical Council for Social Communication: Handbook on Ethics in Advertising www.vatican.va/roman_curia/pontifical_councils/pccs/documents/rc_pc_pccs_doc_22021997_ethics-in-ad_en.html

 

Media Literacy & Media Criticism

Accuracy in Media (conservative analysis) www.aim.org

Action Coalition for Media Education acmecoalition.org

Ad Busters adbusters.org

Alliance for a Media Literate America www.amlainfo.org

Association for Media Literacy www.aml.ca

Center for Media and Democracy (PR Watch and SourceWatch progressive analysis) www.prwatch.org

Center for Media and Public Affairs www.cmpa.com

Center for Media Literacy www.medialit.org

EthicNet (Journalism ethics in various European nations) http://ethicnet.uta.fi/codes_by_country

FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (progressive analysis) www.fair.org/index.php

GLAAD Media www.glaad.org 

Independent Media Institute www.alternet.org/ 

Jesuit Communication Project jcp.proscenia.net

JournalismNet www.journalismnet.com/media/criticism.htm

Media Awareness Network www.media-awareness.ca/english/index.cfm

Media Channel www.mediachannel.org

Media Literacy Clearinghouse www.frankwbaker.com

Project Censored www.projectcensored.org

News Watch www.newswatch.org

 

Fact Checking

PR Week www.prweekus.com

PRSA Job Center www.prsa.org/jobcenter